Configuring SSO for a team

Configuring single sign-on

Only an Enterprise team administrator (admin) can configure single sign-on (SSO) for a Postman team.

Go to Team Settings for an enterprise plan. In the following screen, select Authentication.

sso enable

Upon selecting Authentication, the following screen appears:

sso enable

After configuring an SSO authentication for your Postman team, you can use the toggle option in Settings (as illustrated above) to turn on/off this SSO authentication. Click the button (circled above) to turn on/off your SSO authentication system. This is a team-level option which will enable/disable SSO for the whole team. To update the SSO settings, click Edit.

To configure a new authentication method, click Add a new authentication method button.

In the ADD AUTHENTICATION METHOD modal, select the authentication type. Enter an authentication name that is easily identifiable to your team. Then click the Proceed button.

authentication method

Note: Always check with your authentication provider dashboard or your IT support staff for the correct information to complete a modal.

details

In the "Service Provider Details (Postman)" screen, the Entity ID, and the URLs for the Login and ACS are already populated.

As a next step, you must fill in the details in the Identity Provider Details section. And then provide your authentication certificate from your identity provider in "X.509 Certificate".

To enter details in the Identity Provider Details section, you must login to your IDP account and fetch details. Refer to the corresponding section of the documentation and follow the outlined procedure there:

Managing user accounts

This section describes the following topics:

Creating end user accounts

You can create an account for a user in the Identity Provider (IdP).

The first time a new user logs in to Postman through the IdP, a Postman account is created under two conditions—the team has seats available and the "Allow Signups" box was checked during SSO configuration.

The user will be automatically associated to the team with a user role and have access to team resources.

Existing user account

If a Postman user logs in to Postman through a team's IdP, the user will be automatically added to the team if one of the following is true:

  • The team has available slots and "Allow Signups" is enabled.
  • An admin has invited the user to join the team.

Removing team access

An admin must remove users from their Postman team to prevent access to shared resources.