Managing your team

Postman's web dashboard provides a number of ways to manage your team.

Member roles

Everyone in your team is a member. Each member has certain roles, which let them perform sets of actions.

Postman supports 3 member roles:

Roles in Postman Permitted actions
Admin Create and delete invitations
Edit team information and logo
Remove users from the team
Manage team roles (except billing)
Manage custom domains
Manage authentication methods
View monitoring usage data for all monitors created by the team
View team audit logs
Create and manage payment links
Use a purchase key
Billing Create and manage payment links
Use a purchase key
Manage billing details
Manage payment and payment methods
Cancel and change team plan
Assign billing role
Developer View all published collections in the team
View collections, environments, mock servers, and monitors visible to the team
View and create team workspaces
View team activity feed
View team's custom domanins and use them to publish documentation up monitors for collections

Teams are only charged for developer roles. If your team size is 10, you can have up to 10 members with the developer role. Any of these 10 members can have admin or billing roles as well.

Each team can have up to 2 support accounts (only have admin or billing rights, and are not paid for).

By default, members who set up the team for themselves will be granted all three roles. If you're purchasing Postman Pro for someone else, you'll receive an invite to join the team with a billing role.

Managing roles

An admin can modify the roles of other team members (except billing) in the Team page.

manage settings

When an admin clicks the Manage Roles button, a list of team members appears. The admin selects a user and clicks the button for the new role. In the image below, the admin would click the Billing button to assign that role to the user. Then the admin clicks the Done button on the top of the page to complete the process.

manage settings

Keep in mind a few restrictions:

  1. Each team can have up to 2 support accounts. (Can only have admin or billing rights, and are not paid for)
  2. Each member must have at least one role.
  3. You cannot assign the user role to more members than your team has paid for.

Invites

An invite is an invitation you send to people you want to add to a team. Only admins can manage invites.

Inviting members to a team in Dashboard

In the Team page, click the Invite Users button.

Enter the email address of the user you want to invite, and click the Invite Users to complete the process.

invite users

Inviting members to team Workspaces in Dashboard

In the Workspace page, click on the ellipsis icon in the upper right corner. Select "Manage Members" and enter the email address or username of the user you want to (...) invite under the "Members" section, then press enter. When you are done adding users, click Save Changes. Note: Adding users outside the team will invite them to join the team.

invite via Dashboard

Inviting members to team Workspaces in the Native App

Under the Workspaces dropdown click on the ellipsis (...) icon that appears when hovering over a team workspace and select "Manage Members". If you are in Browse mode, the ellipsis (...) icon is located in the upper right corner of the Team Workspace page, similar to the Dashboard.

invite via App

Enter the email address or username of the user you want to invite under the "Invite Members" section, then click Add. When you are done adding users, click Save Changes. Note: Adding users outside the team will invite them to join the team.

invite via App Panel

Canceling invitations

To revoke an invitation, click the "X" link next to each invitation. You can see how many available invitations remain. The available invitations will increase by 1 for every canceled invite for the user role.

Changing team size

If you have no more paid slots and need to invite more users, see Changing your plan.