Roles and permissions

Roles and permissions in Postman have been enhanced to provide a more robust access-control mechanism. In Postman v7, you access features through assigned roles that have their own set of user permissions.

This chapter describes the following topics:

Understanding roles in Postman

Permissions to perform certain tasks and/or operations are assigned to specific roles in Postman. For instance, Postman provides an admin-level role to help manage the permissions of Postman for the entire team. Likewise, Postman has other roles with specific permissions.

The diagram below illustrates the roles in Postman:

roles overview

The following is a brief outline of the main roles:

  • Collection viewer can view, run, and share a collection. When a viewer shares a collection it carries the same viewer permissions to the viewer with whom it is shared.
  • Collection editor can manage a collection and controls the highest level administrative and security settings.
  • Workspace collaborator can view all resources in the workspace, has add and remove privileges, can create history, and even add members.
  • Workspace admin can edit workspace’s information like name, summary, settings, remove members and change workspace roles, and delete the workspace.
  • Team developer can access some team resources (collections, environments, workspaces).
  • Team admin can’t access team resources, can edit team details, settings and invite/remove team members.
  • Team billing can’t access team resources, can access billing related things.

List of roles and permissions

Roles and permissions is not a new feature in Postman. In Postman v7 the roles have been enhanced to provide a fine-grained access management of its features. This sections clearly outlines the roles and permissions for collections, workspaces, and teams in a table format.

This section describes the following topics:

Collection roles

In Postman v7, collections have two roles - Collection Viewer and Collection Editor. The following table illustrates the roles and permissions of collections:

Collections Viewer Editor
Add, edit, and delete mock servers
Add, edit, and delete monitors
Edit and delete a collection
Manage roles on collections
View and run collections
View and run collection runs
Export a collection
Fork a collection
Merge forks on a collection
Publish collection documentation and add to API Network or Postman template
Share collection to a different workspace
Tag and restore collection versions

Workspace roles

In Postman v7, workspaces have two roles - Workspace Collaborator and Workspace Admin. The following table illustrates the roles and permissions of workspaces:

Workspaces Collaborator Admin
Add and remove collections, environments
View, create, edit, and delete Collection runs, Header Presets, History, and Integrations
Delete workspace
Join and leave workspace
Add mock servers and monitors
View workspace contents and data like name, summary, and settings
Edit workspace details like - name, summary, and settings
Add members
Remove members
Manage roles and visibility of the workspace

Team roles

In Postman v7, teams have three roles - Developer, Admin, and Billing. The following table illustrates team's roles and permissions:

Teams Developer Admin Billing
Create and delete invitations
Edit team information and logo
Manage team roles (except billing)
Remove users from the team
Manage custom domains
Manage authentication methods
View monitoring usage data for all monitors created by the team
View team audit logs
Create and manage payment links
Use a purchase key
View all published collections in the team
Manage billing details
Manage payment and payment methods
Cancel and change team plan
Assign billing role
View collections, environments, mock servers and monitors visible to the team
View and create team workspaces
View team activity feed
View team's custom domains and use them to publish documentation

Roles before and after

A user's role determines what they can and cannot do in Postman. Each role has a default set of permissions. The following section illustrates the roles prior to version 7 and post 7. The following lists the old roles and the newer ones feature-wise:

  • Collections

    • Can view changed to Collection Viewer
    • Can edit changed to Collection Editor
  • Workspace (No roles existed prior to version 7.0)

    • Workspace Collaborator
    • Workspace Admin
  • Team

    • User changed to Developer
    • Admin
    • Billing

Note: In the Postman app UI, the right-click option Modify team permissions has changed to Manage Roles. Also note that the older set of roles applied till Postman app version 6.

Migrating to Postman v7

To know more about migration-related information, please refer to migrating to v7 section.