Collaboration

Postman allows all users to collaborate with their teams through Team Workspaces. Using this feature, you can easily collaborate and share your collections, environments, integrations, history, mocks, monitors, and more.

Free collaboration is available in version 6.2 and above.

Contents

Working with team workspaces

Create a Team Workspace by inviting a team member to join a personal workspace or create one using the app or web dashboard.

Inviting a team member to a personal workspace

In the app, select Invite.

invite button

Enter the email address of the individual you’d like to invite to your team workspace, click Add > Invite to team.

invite team member

The individual will be added to the team once they accept their invitation.

"My Workspace" is a default workspace created by Postman. This workspace is different from other personal workspaces as it cannot be shared with anyone. When you invite a teammate to join another personal workspace, Postman converts it into a team workspace.

Creating a new workspace from the menu

Select your current workspace in the app to open the workspace menu, then click Create New.

create workspace

Specify a name, a summary, and select Team for type, then invite members to your newly created shared workspace.

Team discovery

Enabling team discovery encourages collaboration and eases the onboarding process by allowing users accessing Postman with their company email address to request to join pre-existing teams within their organization.

Making your team discoverable

You can enable team discovery in the web dashboard by selecting Team > Settings, or in the app by selecting Team > Team Settings.

team list

Finding teams within your organization

When you log in to the Postman web dashboard using a verified email address for your company or organization, you can see available teams to join by selecting your avatar > Your Team.

You will see a list of available teams within your org. Select any team, then Request to join.

team list

The team administrator will receive a notification that you’ve asked to join the team. Once they approve your request, you will be able to access the team and collaborate on API projects within it.

Usage limit for free users

Team workspaces are available to all users as of version 6.2. Postman usage limits differ by plan type and can be viewed on our pricing page.

Usage limit

You can check the number of requests you've shared within the Postman app as well as in the web dashboard. Free users can select the drop-down menu to the right of Upgrade in the app. Paid users can access the menu by selecting your team name.

The usage menu allows you to review limits for shared requests and history, mocks, monitors, and public documentation. Click Resource Usage to view your usage period.

usage info

How archiving works

Postman archives collections when a free team's collaboration exceeds usage limits. Archived collections cannot be collaborated on, however they are still accessible to users. You will receive an in-app notification when a collection is archived.

archived message

Postman chooses which collection(s) to archive based on last edit date. The collections that have gone the longest without a revision will be archived in order to bring your team within usage limits.

Postman indicates the number of archived collections at the bottom of the left sidebar.

archived message

Recovering your archived collections

To recover archived collections, select Archived Collections.

You will then be directed to your web dashboard, where you can click Download your data > Request data export > Request an archive. export data1

You will then be able to select Download to retrieve your archived data.

Download Data

Alternatively, you can download your archived data directly within the Postman App. To learn how, refer to Settings.

Next steps

For a more in-depth introduction to workspaces and how they can help organize your API development, check out Intro to Workspaces.